A Guide to the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)


A Guide to the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

‘’Exciting times ahead for you and your child’’

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is how the government and us, Early Years Professionals describe the time in your child’s life between birth and age 5.


This is a very important stage as it helps your child get ready for school as well as preparing them for future learning and successes.  From when your child is born up until the age of 5, their early years’ experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure, supporting their development, care and learning needs.


Little Squiggles is registered by OFSTED allowing me to deliver the EYFS following the legal document ‘Early Years Foundation Stage’


What is the EYFS Framework – Why do we have one?
The EYFS Framework exists to support all professionals working in the EYFS to help your child, and was developed with a number of early year’s experts and parents.


In 2012 the framework was revised to make it clearer and easier to use, with more focus on the things that matter most. This new framework also has a greater emphasis on your role in helping your child develop.


It sets out: 



  • The legal welfare requirements that everyone registered to look after children must follow to keep your child safe and promote their welfare 

  • The 7 areas of learning and development which guide our engagement with your child’s play and activities as they learn new skills and knowledge 

  • Assessments that will tell you about your child’s progress through the EYFS

  • Expected levels that your child should reach at age 5, usually the end of the reception year; these expectations are called the “Early Learning Goals (ELGs)”

There is also guidance for us supporting your child on planning the learning activities, and observing and assessing what and how your child is learning and developing.


What does it mean for you as a parent?


Ensuring a child’s safety

Much thought has been given to making sure that your child is as safe as possible. Within the EYFS there is a set of welfare standards that everyone must follow. These include the numbers of staff required in the setting to administering medicines and carrying out risk assessments. 



You can find out about the quality of Little Squiggles and other early years providers in relation to the EYFS Framework by checking what the Government’s official inspection body for early years, Ofsted, has to say about it. You can find this information at http://www.ofsted.gov.uk/inspection-reports/find-inspection-report/provider/CARE/EY411203


How my child will be learning


The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development. 
Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development. 

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are: 

  • Communication and language; 

  • Physical development; and 

  • Personal, social and emotional development. 

  • These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning. 

  • As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are: 

  • Literacy; 

  • Mathematics; 

  • Understanding the world; and

  • Expressive arts and design. 


These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. We ensure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. This is a little bit like a curriculum in primary and secondary schools, but it's suitable for very young children, and it's designed to be really flexible so that we can follow your child's unique needs and interests.


Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.


How can I find out how my child is getting on? 


It is important that you and the professionals caring for your child work together. You need to feel comfortable about exchanging information and discussing things that will benefit your child. These conversations will need to be with your child’s “key person”. This is the person who:

  • Is your main point of contact within the setting 

  • Helps your child to become settled, happy and safe

  • Is responsible for your child’s care, development and learning

  • Takes a careful note of your child’s progress, sharing this with you and giving you ideas as to how to help your child at home

You can obtain information about your child’s development at any time and there are two stages (at age 2, and again at age 5) when the professionals caring for your child must give you written information about how he or she is doing.


When your child is 2


At some point after your child turns 2, the professionals working with your child must give you a written summary of how your child is progressing against the 3 prime areas of learning: 

  • communication and language; 

  • physical development; and 

  • personal, social and emotional development. 


This is called the progress check at age 2. 


This check will highlight areas where your child is progressing well and anywhere they might need some extra help or support – and how mums and dads and other family members or carers can work with the key person to help. You might find it useful to share the information from the check with other professionals such as health visitors (who can use it as part of the health and development review).


When your child is 5


At the end of the EYFS – in the summer term of the reception year in school – teachers complete an assessment which is known as the EYFS Profile. This assessment is carried out by the reception teacher and is based on what they, and other staff caring for your child, have observed over a period of time. 


Another important part of the EYFS Profile is your knowledge about your child’s learning and development, so do let your child’s class teacher know about what your child does with you: such as how confident your child is in writing their name, reading and talking about a favourite book, speaking to people your child is not so familiar with or their understanding of numbers. 


All of the information collected is used to judge how your child is doing in the 7 areas of learning and development. Finding out at this stage how your child is doing will mean that the teacher your child has in their next school year – year 1 – will know what your child really enjoys doing and does well, as well as helping them decide if your child needs a bit of extra support, what that support should be and if they are already getting it. 

The school will give you a report of your child’s progress, including information from his or her EYFS Profile.


Where can I go for further information?


Please feel free to ask me as many questions as you need to; I really do welcome speaking with you. You can find the Early Years Foundation Stage which includes the early learning goals at www.foundationyears.org.uk. The foundation year’s website also includes a range of resources and contacts.  

A Guide to the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)